Publish or post? – The Scientist – Magazine of the Life Sciences.

This is an interesting and well-intentioned project. It is also, however, in my opinion naive. Integrity of scientific publishing is maintained by active peer-review, and a network of personal blogs (my own included!) cannot be substitutes for that. The problem with current publishing is not peer-review; it’s the dominance of expensive, closed-source publications. I would suggest something a bit more structured, yet completely open and relatively inexpensive, such as established online journals with online peer-review. Scientists should realize though that neither of these systems is workable without serious commitments to peer-review. My editorial experience tells me that far too few of my colleagues dedicate the time and effort necessary for these systems to work. Get busy folks!


